Are Character Songs Really Necessary?

yayyyzz_by_danny07312017-d335v8n

Ever since I’ve been thinking about these mostly “wonderful” character songs, I’ve always asked myself one question.

Are they really that necessary?

Now don’t get me wrong; I don’t think that all of them are unnecessary. For example, anime like K-ON! and IdolM@sters are necessary because for IdolM@sters, the characters are idols, or aspiring idols. Plus, the people behind IdolM@sters use these songs for games and the openings/endings of the anime. For K-ON!, while not as necessary as IdolM@sters, the characters form a band, so it makes some sense to have at least a few character songs.

However, for many series, mainly Haruhi, they really are not necessary. Again, I ask this:

Are they really necessary? And why?

Personally, I think the companies are doing this because of mostly one thing:

Money.

You see, we live in a world where capitalism dominates nearly everything. And character songs are definitely no exception.

So for me, the answer is no. They’re practically a waste of time and a waste of money. If you think different, then good for you, more power to you. But as this post stands, I’m not a big fan of them.

Leave a Reply

