Let’s talk about Tonari no Seki-kun.

Image

When I did my first impression on this series, I called it too repetitive for my taste. I even compared it to Watamote and Miss Monochrome. But, I have one thing to say about that.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Boy was I wrong!

For a show’s premise sounding repetitive as all fuck, they actually do something new each episode! Sure, you can argue that they made Seki-kun play Shogi twice, but you know what? It’s not the fact that the idea’s been done before; it’s the way that it’s been handled. Tonari no Seki-kun knows how to freshen a show up very well even with already done ideas. 

So what? The ending of the plots are all the same?

Actually, no. In episode six, Yokoi takes away the Transformers toys that Seki-kun brought to school away from him because he wasn’t paying attention during a drill, forcing him to pay attention in class. In the next episode, it wasn’t just Yokoi and Seki-kun not paying attention. The whole class was involved in sending notes to each other. Hell, just recently in episode nine, Yokoi tries grabbing the stuffed cactus that Seki-kun crocheted, scaring him into reading his textbook.

This is why I think Tonari no Seki-kun is a great show and a really big surprise. It’s the chemistry with the characters and the big imagination that goes along with this show. If I gave this show a grade, I’d give a 95/A.

One thought on “Let’s talk about Tonari no Seki-kun.

  1. Pingback: Tonari no Seki-kun Review | Some Bitch on the Internet

Leave a Reply

