Sailor Moon Crystal: First Impression

When I was a little kid, I never seemed to care about Sailor Moon. Now that I’m a fifteen-year-old girl, I don’t think that this opinion is going to change much…

Yeah, the first episode of Crystal didn’t make much of an impression on me…

Well, I can always start with the positives of the show since there are.

The animation is really nice and fluid, especially during the transformation scene. Yeah, it looked like it was made in MikuMikuDance, but MikuMikuDance has a lot of potential, and that potential was very well used.

Now let’s get onto… ugh. God damn it!

The animation can’t be the only good thing I can say about the show. I mean, this isn’t some average anime. This is Sailor Moon! I gotta come up with more positives than that. Let’s see… um…

I like Sailor Jupiter and Sailor Mercury. They were some pretty good characters. Sailor Moon herself at least has a personality. And I like how Sailor Moon was the first major big anime to have a homosexual couple (that I know of). And… and…

Well, shit. I guess those are the only good things I can come up with. I’m sorry. Now I’m going to go over the negatives.

I already told you people that I thought the Sailor Moon style was creepy, so I’m not going to any more detail with this. The protagonist, Usagi, is um… weak. I understand that it was her first time and all, but she barely did anything unless Tuxedo Mask and Luna told her to do something. Man, that’s the protagonist I’m talking about.

My main problem is the voice-acting. It’s atrocious, especially with Usagi. Her voice makes her sound more annoying. I can’t believe I’m saying that, but the Dic dub had better voice-acting than Crystal. That’s damn well pathetic because the same people behind Captain N should not up you in voice-acting.

Hopefully, episode two will be better since that’s the introduction of Sailor Mercury.

Leave a Reply

